Fall Bird Bridal Shower

When a dear friend of mine got engaged, the first thing I thought was how perfect for each other they were. The second thing was, when do I get to throw a bridal shower. The shower was in early October, so I knew that I wanted to incorporate fall and the bride had already decided on using birdcages as apart of her reception decor. So I did my best to combine a bird theme with fall colors and flavors. The color scheme for the shower was moss green, shades of brown, and pops of orange. I used birdcages, moss rocks, mini pumpkins, antique bird figurines, pears (because they were the perfect shade of green), and kraft paper circle cut outs with the bride and groom’s C + J logo

I created this invitation on photoshop and printed it at FedEx Kinkos. The invite was printed on a neutral cardstock and the cut outs were printed on kraft paper. The cut outs incorporated the bride and grooms innitals, a theme that was used on printables throughout the shower. I used burlap and twine to wrap around theinvitation to give it some texture. I found some kraft paper envelopes at Hobby Lobby that added to the natural color palate. 

I created a C + J banner to hang on my garden flag stand that I put at the front of my driveway to help guest find the house. 

I had a topiary of moss and pumpkins decorating my front porch as guest were invited in.

Something that I love to do for birthday parties or a shower like this is to have photos of the guest of honor displayed. In this case it was the couples engagement pictures on a twin banner with circle cut outs of the C + J logo. Instead of a traditional sign in book, I had the guest on a piece of kraft paper write a marriage tip or wish for the couple. After all of the wedding events were over , and the bride and groom were back home, I gave the bride a scrapbook with photos from all of here wedding events and had the shower guests tips in there as well. 

In keeping with the bird theme, I made pillows to put into the living room with birds and birdcages. 

I added a splash of fall all around the room with mini pumpkins that I bought at the grocery store.

Because the guests needed utensils but were not going not be sitting at a table, I decided to roll them together. I printed out paper rings using the C + J logo.

While on the hunt for bird cages for the shower, I found this lovely at an antique store. It was the perfect shade of green and had just the right amount of rusticness to it. I made it the center piece of the food table, displaying the cake in the middle of it.

On the food table I used a brown table cloth with a burlap runner, green platters with wooden cutting boards and bowls. I printed food labels on kraft paper with different bird cages on each one, in keeping with the theme. And I sprinkled the table with the leftover circle cut outs with the C + J logo. 

Menu

Drinks:
Raspberry Green Tea~ Water
Appetizers:
Cheese & Crackers Tray ~ Spinach Artichoke Dip in a Bread Bowl  Dip ~ My Favorite Fruit Tray with Cinnamon Pecan Dip (see recipe)
Lunch:
We made Mini Chicken Pot Pies with a Leaf Crust Detailing ~ Fall Salad with Maple Vinaigrette Dressing
Dessert:
Homemade Apple Cream Cheese Bunt Cake with Browned Butter Icing from Southern Living (link to recipe) ~ Variety of Cookies

There are so many pictures missing from the decor, I wish I had gotten more! 

Vendors and Credits:

Invitations and Printables – Graphically Charming (Myself)

Leave a Reply

